NAPRCA Earns Top PRCA Honors

Scroll Down

On August 21st in a virtual awards ceremony, the Public Relations Council of Alabama (PRCA) announced NAPRCA as its 2019 Sharon Heflin Chapter of the Year (COTY). This marks NAPRCA’s fourth year in a row earning the COTY designation. Every year, PRCA enlists the help of a public relations association in another state to judge COTY awards. Judging is based on submissions for 8 categories related to chapter operations. There are winners for each of these categories as well as the overall COTY winner.

  • Accreditation – 1st Place
  • Chapter Management – 1st Place
  • Communications – 1st Place
  • Community Service – 1st Place
  • Programs – 1st Place
  • Projects – 1st Place
  • PR Education – 1st Place
  • Membership – 2nd Place

Sweeping a majority of top honors for this year’s COTY submissions, NAPRCA was selected as the Sharon Heflin Chapter of the Year for the 11th time since 1984.

There were a number of other awards announced during the virtual awards ceremony, including Student of the Year, Philip R. Forest Professional Achievement Award and Medallion Awards. Congratulations to these outstanding NAPRCA members who collected accolades during the ceremony:


Michael K. Simmons Student of the Year Award

Mackenzie Cottles, University of North Alabama


Award of Merit

Melanie Thornton | HSV/Madison County Public Library


Award of Excellence

McComm Group, Inc.


Medallion Awards

NASA/ARC Federal

Kallie Butler | Wellstone, Inc.

Melanie Thornton | HSV/Madison  County Public Library


Judges Choice Awards

Melanie Thornton | HSV/Madison County Public Library

Kallie Baker | Wellstone, Inc.


Best in Show Award




About This Post

Posted on August 21, 2020
Posted by Kristen Vaughn